Wings and Horns

jesus-as-a-little-child1

 

” Hey Angel 121, where are you going?” asked God, surprised to see a young angel making her way to the golden gates of heaven.

God had already went thru a lot today, given the way his most loved sons turned out. One went to Earth to bring in a change while the other was banished to eternal damnation.

God felt like a stock trader who invested in his company and realised that the company was not meant to make profits in first place.

Angel turned back with her backpack covering her white wings and took a deep breath.

“Well sir, I am going back to bring back your son.”

God was real pleased with her obedience and loyalty.

“That’s great dear” , he beamed ( well we can guess he beamed, for the white beard covered his face), “But don’t worry about him, Jesus will come back soon. If you can keep a little secret, he actually went to make things lighter down there but he will end up making it real tough. Anyways that’s part of this game…..”

“Er…Sir sorry to interrupt you, but….”

“Yes go on miss, dont let this Good old God stop you.”

“I am actually going for your other son, Lucifer. I felt if he was shown the right path, he can come back here.” she finished with trepidation and a touch of pride.

God sighed and got down from the chestnut sofa.

“Dear, I know what’s going on in your sweet mind of yours. But trust me, you can’t help him. He need to break his own horns and sprout his own wings.”

Angel who prepared for the trip and dreamt about Lucifer washing her feet with tears of gratitude, shook her head.

“Pardon me sir, but I think you gave up on him too early and easily. Let me go and bring him back at once.” she bowed and walked down the glittery path of hell.

God smiled (his usual mysterious one) and sat back on the chestnut sofa while the cherubs were busy composing songs.


” Hey Lucifer, you there?” shouted Angel from outside the dark cave. Apparently, light and darkness had a fight over who should stay in hell and darkness one by a mere margin.

“Yea in here, who is that?” answered a cheery voice from within.

“It’s me sir, angel from your erstwhile home.” gladly replied Angel for her master Jr. voice was real sweet. Legend had it that Lucifer was awarded best singer for three hundred years consecutively.

“Did dad send you?” he shouted back.

“No sir, I came here by myself.”

“Oh great! How sweet of you angel..”

“121 sir.”

“Yea come on in, I am almost done with my cooking.”

Angel tried to enter the cave and a crazy sword popped from thin air.

“Oops sorry, you need to leave your wings outside before entering as they kind of get in-between the things here.” shouted Lucifer from the kitchen.

Angel 121 shuddered at the thought of undecking her wings but thought of the mission and entered the cave sans wings.

“So tell me angel, what brings you here?” asked Lucifer after he served tea to angel.

Angel leaned forward towards Lucifer and replied, “Sir I know deep within you are good. Let me help you to get back to heaven.”

Lucifer took her hands in his and pressed gently.

“You are right angel, I want to be back in heaven with all those white clouds and light.”

“Great!!! I knew it , come let’s go right away, your father will be so happy and so wrong for once.”

Lucifer chuckled sadly , “I would love to come, but I have some things here that I want to do. Can we stay for two more weeks and then we will be off?”

Angel hesitated but then thought, all for a good reason and nodded her head.

“Er…Angel is it a yes or no?”

“Yes sir, I nodded my head. Oops it’s dark here so gestures are of no big use.”


“Sir, my head is aching from last night. Can you please check?” angel requested Lucifer after two weeks.

“Nothing to bother, young angel. You are growing horns and I should say it’s about time.” cheerily replied Lucifer.

“But why do we need horns?”

“Just for fun. Actually they are useless but this is hell and that’s what we love.”

“Er sir, It’s been two weeks, can we go now?” Angel queried hesitantly.

“Sure thing, let me pack my bag and we will off.  Crazy how time flies…”

“Yea sure, it is..”

“I felt it’s just a minute back you came here…”

“Yea I felt it’s been twenty years….but then time is relative…”

“Right ho! I heard that funny haired scientist say  same thing. Funny thing to say if you ask me, I mean its relative to whom and what’s the relation? Like cousin or …”

“Ok shall we get going?” Angel asked irritated by Lucifer monologues. If she realised something about Lucifer it’s that he is a boring loser who speaks about all things he don’t have and scorns at all things he have.

“Yea, sure thing Angel 121, just give me a second. Let me go back to my bedroom and get something in a jiffy.”

Angel felt her horns and sensed the disproportion and weird shapes of them. She was really vexed by the pointlessness of hell. For example, mirrors are installed all around the cave but of no use since there is no light to see a thing. Or those ships that are parked at the garage for a cruise which can never happen for Lucifer doesn’t know how to ride one and her offer to help her made him weep about how fishes are more blessed than him.

Angel realised that hell is nothing but an opposite of heaven. Basically, hell is a junk yard which Lucifer thinks is a house – no purpose no beauty. Period.

“Sir it’s been a week since you said ‘jiffy’. Could you please come.”

No response.

With trepidation angel turned the doorknob and entered the bedroom and WHAM!!  a surfboard hit her squarely on her face.

She rubbed her horns and tried to locate Lucifer in darkness.

Then she heard the worst sound that ever reached her ears. Remember that she had gone thru a concert of Vogons but the snore of Lucifer was horrible than that.


“Welcome Back Angel121. How was the trip?” asked God with his mysterious smile and eyes hovering over her black-eye.

“Well as you know from beginning , it’s pointless and snobbish.” replied Angel with tears in her eyes. She still feels pain where horns grew.

“The pain dies soon dear. The horns are gone but your habit of feeling their bad shape should go too. Go and  freshen up in the white light shower. Jesus is back and I am planning up on throwing up a party and I am in real need of skilled wings.”

“Er…God”, hesitated Angel 121,, “Is there no redemption for Lucifer? Is it eternal damnation and his soul blackened in forever?”

“Whoa! those are big words my dear. Definetly there is.”

“When? How?”

God gave one of his mysterious smiles (the only kind he has) and replied, “One need to cut their own horns and sprout their own wings.”

 


 

Post-script:

“That’s the end of my dream teacher.” finished John his speech on the topic , ‘My dreams’.

“John what you said is wrong in so many fronts.” yelled teacher.

“Like…”

“You need examples, well how about God sitting on chestnut sofa and Lucifer quoting Einstein!!!! Now get back to your bench and next time better talk sense.”

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

